Post Reply 

Gap on Mac

Jul 28, 2014, 13:56
Post: #1
Gap on Mac
For days I've been trying to install GAP on a Mac. with no luck, just a lot of frustrationSmile

System:
OS X 10.8.5
Gimp 2.8.10

I read an article in smashingmagazine.com which told the instructions could be found on http://www.gap-system.org/.

I installed XCode and MacPorts, installed a package downloaded from http://neunhoef.github.io/bob/, installed the MacPort from Gimp-Gap. And nothing happened.

Are there any Mac users who have managed to install GAP with Gimp? I have the feeling that either I installed the wrong GAP, or put it in the wrong location, but there are no instructions available on the web to verify it with; nearly all instructions are for Windows.

Any help is appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 28, 2014, 14:15 (This post was last modified: Jul 28, 2014 14:26 by rich2005.)
Post: #2
RE: Gap on Mac
Not an OSX user but seems that these totally different GAP's

There is the one you referenced GAP - Groups, Algorithms, Programming

then there is Gimp-GAP Gimp Animation Plugin

I am not too sure that there is a Gimp-GAP package for OSX see http://registry.gimp.org/node/25077

Possibly you can compile it via http://www.macports.org/ports.php?by=name&substr=gimp but how that works I do not know.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 28, 2014, 15:16
Post: #3
RE: Gap on Mac
(Jul 28, 2014 14:15)rich2005 Wrote:  Not an OSX user but seems that these totally different GAP's

That was my feeling as well. It's funny that a few website refer to this site for instructions on how to install GAP for GIMP.
I

Quote:I am not too sure that there is a Gimp-GAP package for OSX see http://registry.gimp.org/node/25077

No, if there was one, I probably would have found it by nowSmile

Quote:Possibly you can compile it via http://www.macports.org/ports.php?by=name&substr=gimp but how that works I do not know.
Did this, but GAP is not available in GIMP. If I go into MacPorts, it'll say GIMP-GAP is installed.

Is GAP considered a plugin? May the Plugin folders in the Preferences of GIMP are not correct?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 28, 2014, 20:02
Post: #4
RE: Gap on Mac
Quote: Is GAP considered a plugin? May the Plugin folders in the Preferences of GIMP are not correct?

More correctly GAP is a package of plugins with a couple of scripts as well.

Have you already seen this thread about compiling GAP
http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-ap...ckage.html

Timescale is over a couple of years but the last post suggests that both Gimp and Gap might need compiling via MacPorts.

Not many (any) long time OSX users around here, perhaps one will be along soon.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 30, 2014, 09:26
Post: #5
RE: Gap on Mac
I have tried to compile GIMP using Mac Ports, and it does this without any errors. It just won't start.

So, I'm going to try to solve this problem first.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  GAP/video moon 1 226 Apr 8, 2018 18:07
Last Post: paynekj
  GAP Plugin error windows 8.1gap_ decode_mplayer.exe entry point not found. thegreenman 1 1,218 Sep 8, 2014 11:55
Last Post: rich2005
  Can anybody help with GAP please? plandon 3 441 Aug 17, 2014 10:22
Last Post: plandon
  GAP borngugak 4 644 Jul 27, 2014 18:55
Last Post: rich2005
  Save for Web on Mac Maverick OS segts 8 1,953 May 29, 2014 03:57
Last Post: d1lemma

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS