Post Reply 

Force closing

Oct 10, 2012, 23:04
Post: #1
Thumbs Down Force closing
I'm working on an image...

The dimensions are 480x800, it's only going to have 16 layers, but the file size is already 2gb+

and it's having a hard time getting the job done.

Windows 7, 16gb of RAM, great processor.

Should I boot into a linux distro and try again?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 11, 2012, 02:28 (This post was last modified: Oct 11, 2012 02:35 by figarofigaro.)
Post: #2
RE: Force closing
(Oct 11, 2012 00:47)ofnuts Wrote:  I just created an image with 16 layers filled with RGB noise (so no compression). Gimp is using 183MB of ram (after lots of undo/redo), and when saved on disk the XCF file is 18M, coherent with 800x480x16*3 (counting 3 bytes/pixel, since even though there are alpha channels, they are uniform and probably optimized out).

On the other hand even if your canvas is 800x480, you can have much bigger layers (imports?).

I am very curious why my XCF file was so huge... If you want a copy of it, I can host it somewhere... The saved file was 6.36mb, but while it was running open in GIMP it was 6gb+

All I kept doing was duplicating a layer, using the Transform tool to rotate is 22.5 degrees, and then reduplicate and do it again. (a total of 16 times)

The Transform tool would hang for at least a minute and Windows kept asking me to close it...



Not sure what the forum rules are about hotlinking pictures, but here is the finished copy:

[Image: tumblr_mbpen5MLMp1qisgmho1_r3_250.gif]

(GIF is shrunken for the web, it's a bootanimation for the Nook Color, android device.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 11, 2012, 16:43
Post: #3
RE: Force closing
(Oct 11, 2012 06:51)ofnuts Wrote:  
(Oct 11, 2012 02:28)figarofigaro Wrote:  I am very curious why my XCF file was so huge... If you want a copy of it, I can host it somewhere... The saved file was 6.36mb, but while it was running open in GIMP it was 6gb+
Yes, I'd be interested. But you must be running a 64-bit version (there is no way for a 32-bit version to take more that 4GB)

(Oct 11, 2012 02:28)figarofigaro Wrote:  All I kept doing was duplicating a layer, using the Transform tool to rotate is 22.5 degrees, and then reduplicate and do it again. (a total of 16 times)

The Transform tool would hang for at least a minute and Windows kept asking me to close it...

Not sure what the forum rules are about hotlinking pictures, but here is the finished copy:
Cool one, but it makes me dizzy, I see the index and the rim rotate in opposite directions. My eye has the choice of seeing the apexes rotate CW at 22.5°/frame (360/16) or CCW at 13.5°/frame (36-22.5).

Weird! I can't get my eyes to do that ahaha.

I wasn't aware there were stable 64-bit versions of GIMP 2.6+ for Windows?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Utility Windows Aren't Closing FantWriter 1 297 Nov 9, 2017 05:20
Last Post: paynekj
Sad Start up error/Gimp keeps closing ms. shelley 1 632 Jul 3, 2014 17:35
Last Post: ms. shelley
  Force installation in my/other language pstefano 3 1,016 Nov 23, 2012 07:53
Last Post: pstefano
  How do you force-cancel toolbox operations? Name - what f***'n name? 0 1,715 Oct 22, 2012 19:40
Last Post: Name - what f***'n name?

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS