Post Reply 

Fatal Parse Error in Brush File

Feb 1, 2014, 07:42
Post: #1
Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
I recently bought some brushes for Photoshop, knowing I could use them on gimp, but I keep receiving this message:

Failed to load data:

Fatal parse error in brush file 'C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\brushes\KyleMegapack.abr': unable to decode abr format version 14402.


I'm not sure what is wrong. My best guess is that the Photoshop version this was made for is not compatible with Gimp 2.8.10. The guy who made these brushes (Kyle T Webster) said that Photoshop CS5 or higher is required. The brush set was only $13, so I'm not really worried about the money, but is there any way I can use these brushes, or will I have to wait for a Gimp update or something?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 1, 2014, 11:33
Post: #2
RE: Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
I do not think the plug-in to open a PS abr brush as an image is standard Gimp.

The source code is here: http://registry.gimp.org/node/126

It compiles easy enough in Linux, Windows ? do not know. I have a feeling that it might be included in Parthas version of Gimp. Not sure.

It is an old plug-in, will it work with a CS5 .abr ? do not know.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 1, 2014, 12:23
Post: #3
RE: Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
Hi zorrahokage.
If your are unable to compile the plugin that rich2005 mentioned and you need a Windows 32bit version see here.
Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 1, 2014, 21:33
Post: #4
RE: Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
Thanks for your help everyone, but it did not work. I think the big problem with it is that the brushes are not individual brushes and they come in a pack. The pack comes as one tpl file. I changed it to abr and copied it to my gimp brushes, but that didn't work either. I also tried changing the files extensions to gbr and gih, but again, nothing worked.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 3, 2014, 01:40
Post: #5
RE: Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
When you changed it to .abr, try putting it in both brush folders *ONE AT A TIME
for Locations:
"Edit > Preferences > Folders > Brushes"

============
Here's another good workaround(expaneded from an above poster) if the brush is one image.

1.Paint one instance of the brush in photoshop
2. Copy that or save it as an image and paste it or open onto the Gimp canvas
3. Click the paintbrush tool
= Two ways : copied / opened as saved image =
4. (If copied)
Look at the icon next to "Brush" in the Tool Options
It should show a clipboard brush (the one you copied)
Click the brush selection gallery and look if it got copied. If so do step #5, if not, do the "(if image)" below
5. Next go to "Edit > Paste as... > New Brush..." Name & save it. (you don't have to add the ".abr" to the end, it will add it when you click "ok" and automatically save it to the appropriate brushs folder.

6. (if image)
If you saved the brush in photoshop as an image.
-Open the image in Gimp
7. fuzzy select the background of the brush and "Select > Invert"
-Copy
8. Edit > Paste as... > New Brush.
.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 3, 2014, 10:04 (This post was last modified: Feb 3, 2014 13:27 by rich2005.)
Post: #6
RE: Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
A PS .tpl file is a preset file and a way of transporting presets from one (PS) computer to another.

There are reports that simply changing the suffix to .abr allows the pack to open as a brush set in PS (seems the OP did this).
Also several reports, that this does not work.

If using the Gimp abr plugin mentioned earlier, do not expect the brushes to show as brushes. You open the .abr File -> Open same as any other image.

That puts the brushes from the brush pack into gimp as layers. Then up to you to save each layer in turn as a gimp brush.

example: 11.7 MB .abr 45 piece brush set, open as Gimp layers. http://i.imgur.com/gVtqhOr.jpg

As before this is an old plugin, very much doubt if it works with a modern PS .tpl file. If I can find one I will give it a try.

edit: Found one. renamed it to .abr Similar results to OP except this is trying to open as an image
PHOTOSHOP BRUSH ERROR: unable to decode abr format version 14402 (subver 0)
GIMP Message Opening '/home/rich/Downloads/Stumpy_Pencilv2.abr‘ failed: Photoshop Brush plug-In could not open image

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Feb 3, 2014, 10:41 (This post was last modified: Feb 4, 2014 03:10 by fluffybunny2.)
Post: #7
RE: Fatal Parse Error in Brush File
(Feb 3, 2014 10:04)rich2005 Wrote:  A PS .tpl file is a preset file and a way of transporting presets from one (PS) computer to another.

There are reports that simply changing the suffix to .abr allows the pack to open as a brush set in PS (seems the OP did this).
Also several reports, that this does not work.

If using the Gimp abr plugin mentioned earlier, do not expect the brushes to show as brushes. You open the .abr File -> Open same as any other image.

That puts the brushes from the brush pack into gimp as layers. Then up to you to save each layer in turn as a gimp brush.

example: 11.7 MB .abr 45 piece brush set, open as Gimp layers. http://i.imgur.com/gVtqhOr.jpg

As before this is an old plugin, very much doubt if it works with a modern PS .tpl file. If I can find one I will give it a try.
To add to the post above... I recently saw this script that saves all layers as brushes, which should speed up the process a little especially when you have a large brush set (number of layers) for saving as Gimp .gbr brushes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Custom brush nightmare phil123456 3 386 May 15, 2018 10:52
Last Post: rentalcarsuae21
  GIMP 2.10 mathmap.exe error while starting bluejedi 1 493 Apr 30, 2018 11:06
Last Post: paynekj
  How can I use GIMP to tell if a file has an embedded ICC profile or not? KAE 2 308 Mar 15, 2018 17:24
Last Post: KAE
  BigTiff File Export tsiolkovsky 0 372 Sep 30, 2017 21:51
Last Post: tsiolkovsky
  "Unknown Filetype" error on any but .xcf beachboui 1 666 Jul 29, 2017 21:29
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS