Post Reply 

Editing Layers

Nov 12, 2013, 02:30 (This post was last modified: Nov 12, 2013 02:42 by cessanfrancisco.)
Post: #1
Big Grin Editing Layers
Is there a way to edit layers without deleting them and starting a new layer?

Example: I am creating a border on a separate layer. When I created the layer I set the X and Y sizes. As it turns out, I need to adjust the X and Y sizes. So far the only way I've been able to adjust this is by deleting the border layer and creating a new one.

Please help!

Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 05:42
Post: #2
RE: Editing Layers
What happens when you try to size the x, y coordinates on the current layer without making a new layer first?

You shouldn't have to delete or make a new layer just to scale up or down.

If appropriate, please post a screenshot of the problem you're running into, if you can save the .XCF (save as in gimp) in a file around 500k or less than 1mb, you can attach that instead.

If your image gets cut off when you try to upscale it, you need to make the canvas size bigger first.

Image > Canvas size...

Then you can scale up. OR....you can scale up first then fit the canvas to the layers

Image > Fit Canvas to layers.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 05:50
Post: #3
RE: Editing Layers
Thanks for your reply, iForstyle007!

Actually what I am trying to do is:

I created a border around a picture. When I created the border (Filters>Decor>Add Border) I set the X and Y sizes, which appeared to set the border edge thickness. Now I need to adjust that thickness and the only way to do that, I've found, is to delete the entire layer and create a new border. Is there a better way of doing this?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 06:10 (This post was last modified: Nov 12, 2013 06:12 by cessanfrancisco.)
Post: #4
RE: Editing Layers
As you can see I've created a white border. I'd like to adjust the thickness of this border but so far the only way I've been able to do this is by deleting the layer and creating a new one. Is there a way to simply adjust the X and Y sizes for the border?

Thanks.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 06:44 (This post was last modified: Nov 12, 2013 06:47 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #5
RE: Editing Layers
Ok, now I know what you mean, you don't need to make a new layer, but you'll need to use Stroke path.

Create a selection around the image.
Grow the selection by how thick you want the border to be
"Select > Grow Selection..."

Then invert the selection and Stroke to path

I'll go into detail on how in a bit, There is a similar technique using stroke to path on the forums that I'm going to find for you.
So stand by before you try it, you can still try
"Edit > Stroke path..."
"Edit > Stroke selection..."

For now maybe looking at this will give you a hint of how its done

http://docs.gimp.org/en/gimp-path-stroke.html
.
.
.
UPDATE: K, check out this thread
http://gimpforums.com/thread-dashed-line...o-distance
I'll whip up a small tutorial for you on your thread on how to do this with a border (very similar)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 07:00
Post: #6
RE: Editing Layers
Great! Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 07:01
Post: #7
RE: Editing Layers
K
For making a border/thickining

1-Expand the canvas of your image
"Image > Canvas Size..."
*You should now see yellow dashed line around your image plus the checkered boxes.
2- go to "Layer > Layer to image Size..."

3. Now use the fuzzy select tool Fuzzyselect to click the background of the image
4. then push ctrl (command on mac) + i (invert) to invert the selection or
"Select > Invert..."

5. First change your color to white

6.
Then go to "Stroke Selection"
"Edit > Stroke Selection"
In the options, increase the line width anywhere from 10.00 up, click ok

If it seems to crop the edge of the image off, UNDO and grow the selection (below instructions) then repeat step #6 vvvvvvv
GROWING SELECTION
Grow the selection to how thick you want your border to be.
"Select > Grow Selection"
experiment to see how far out you need to grow the selection.

Hope this works, if you get stuck on a step, let me know & I'll post up a pic of the step when I get the chance.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 12, 2013, 15:11
Post: #8
RE: Editing Layers
Thanks! I'll give this a shot and let you know if I run into any issues.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Why Can't You Select All Layers nihiloth79 0 365 May 29, 2017 20:00
Last Post: nihiloth79
  Exporting Multiple Layers Into Images (PNG, JPG, etc) SavingMultipleImages 17 11,395 Oct 6, 2014 10:59
Last Post: rich2005
  Issue with Layers and Lighten only mode pgodfrin 14 1,147 Jul 5, 2014 22:09
Last Post: pgodfrin
  Editing a jpg to replace text without losing background color scheme jon80 2 1,921 Jun 24, 2014 01:37
Last Post: iForStyle007
  I found a bug with moving the layers and docable dialogs. How do I fix it? CopperZirconium 2 481 Jun 21, 2014 17:21
Last Post: CopperZirconium

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS