Post Reply 

disable confirmations?

Jul 18, 2013, 16:28
Post: #1
disable confirmations?
Hi. Is there a way to disable confirmation dialogue pop-ups such as "are you sure you wanna replace the existing file?" and "are you sure you wanna close this without saving it?"

Is there also a way to avoid being prompted every single time I save a jpeg, to precise the jpeg quality .......

thank you and forgive me if the questions have already been asked before. I searched but did not find an answer.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 19, 2013, 00:09
Post: #2
RE: disable confirmations?
This is all I could find, not sure about the "replacing existing file", thats just a precautionary prompt to make sure you don't overwrite your existing file.

A Good practice is to save a new draft under a different name so you have a backup of your original work.

*I don't recommend you disable the prompt as you can accidentally close work you spent hours on. If you open a new document or just open a photo and don't make any edits to it you can close it without the pop-up message.
-----------

Under "Saving images"
-Uncheck 'confirm closing of unsaved images" *also not recommended
http://docs.gimp.org/2.6/en/gimp-pimping...nvironment
.
.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 19, 2013, 08:12
Post: #3
RE: disable confirmations?
(Jul 19, 2013 00:09)iForStyle007 Wrote:  This is all I could find, not sure about the "replacing existing file", thats just a precautionary prompt to make sure you don't overwrite your existing file.

A Good practice is to save a new draft under a different name so you have a backup of your original work.

*I don't recommend you disable the prompt as you can accidentally close work you spent hours on. If you open a new document or just open a photo and don't make any edits to it you can close it without the pop-up message.
-----------

Under "Saving images"
-Uncheck 'confirm closing of unsaved images" *also not recommended
http://docs.gimp.org/2.6/en/gimp-pimping...nvironment
.
.

thank you very much. You are perfectly right not to recommend to uncheck "confirm closing of unsaved images". But you know, there are situations in this life where when you push the brakes, you just want the damn car to stop immediately and an "are you sure?" can end your life. Of course this is a caricature to illustrate the idea.....

I agree with you about saving under a new name... but after having scanned a 100 documents, which the scanner automatically saved in a sequential series of names, you really just want to overwrite the images after cleaning them up without being asked every single time if you are sure ...

The same could be said about being asked for every single file you are saving which quality you want...... I would like to just set it to always save per my default settings till I go and change that option and request to be prompted.

If anybody can help with the last two, I would appreciate that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 19, 2013, 09:13
Post: #4
RE: disable confirmations?
thank you ofnuts. I was running 2.8.2 but will update right now.
can you kindly point me in the right direction WHERE I could change those default parameters?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jul 19, 2013, 09:34 (This post was last modified: Jul 19, 2013 11:23 by rich2005.)
Post: #5
RE: disable confirmations?
Quote:.. but after having scanned a 100 documents, which the scanner automatically saved in a sequential series of names, you really just want to overwrite the images after cleaning them up without being asked every single time if you are sure ...

If that is all you are doing, opening an existing image, edit, then surely "Overwrite..filename" does this.
as this: http://i.imgur.com/Xu4UfYq.jpg

edit: Something rang a bell and a quick revisit. You are correct, if working in jpeg format you get a settings dialog, Png and tif no problems. Wink

If you want different file name/format/quality setting then individually there will be dialog, but in this case for say 100 files, maybe a batch converter after the clean up.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How to disable all the Save YAPs phlimm 4 1,094 Apr 13, 2012 12:44
Last Post: rich2005
  free select--any way to disable double click auto connect? moltres_rider 0 2,275 Feb 3, 2011 20:19
Last Post: moltres_rider
  How do I disable double-clicking in gimp? natsumerio 0 730 Nov 15, 2010 19:38
Last Post: natsumerio

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS