Post Reply 

CPU for GIMP

May 31, 2014, 12:25 (This post was last modified: May 31, 2014 12:27 by Image Warrior.)
Post: #1
CPU for GIMP
I'm working with very large images. Does GIMP do better with a fast single processor or slower multiple processors? Where can I find out about how GIMP handles single or multiple threads?

I use both Linux and Widows versions of GIMP

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 31, 2014, 12:47
Post: #2
RE: CPU for GIMP
On my 4-cores system I never see Gimp using more that 25% of the CPU even in some CPU-intensive operations. So, experimentally it only runs on one core.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 1, 2014, 09:05 (This post was last modified: Jun 1, 2014 09:08 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #3
RE: CPU for GIMP
Quote:Where can I find out about how GIMP handles single or multiple threads?
Great question!
If in windows
-right-click the taskbar & click "Task Manager"
- Then click the "Performance" tab, and have it open on the side while using Gimp.

Let me be the test hamster for quad cores (4) under windows 8.1 64-bit.

http://snag.gy/44Im8.jpg

From this screenshot
(using the smudge tool on an image 900+ x 1000+ pixels)

Your system can definitely benefit from using more than 1 core. It will balance the payload more.

I set Gimp to use 3 of my 4 cores, so I have one core left/dedicated for the operating system(OS) should Gimp ever freeze/hang up it won't cripple your system.

You can adjust how many cores Gimp uses in "Edit > Preferences > Environment.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 1, 2014, 12:59 (This post was last modified: Jun 1, 2014 13:00 by ofnuts.)
Post: #4
RE: CPU for GIMP
(Jun 1, 2014 09:05)iForStyle007 Wrote:  
Quote:Where can I find out about how GIMP handles single or multiple threads?
Great question!
If in windows
-right-click the taskbar & click "Task Manager"
- Then click the "Performance" tab, and have it open on the side while using Gimp.

Let me be the test hamster for quad cores (4) under windows 8.1 64-bit.

http://snag.gy/44Im8.jpg

From this screenshot
(using the smudge tool on an image 900+ x 1000+ pixels)

Your system can definitely benefit from using more than 1 core. It will balance the payload more.

I set Gimp to use 3 of my 4 cores, so I have one core left/dedicated for the operating system(OS) should Gimp ever freeze/hang up it won't cripple your system.

You can adjust how many cores Gimp uses in "Edit > Preferences > Environment.

Sorry sir, but you are talking through your hat. "It will balance the payload more." has no meaning. Your screenshot shows that Gimp never uses more that 25% of the whole CPU, because it uses a single core at the time. Of course the thread dispatching makes it run on several cores, but that's a sequential use of each core, it doesn't use several cores in parallel.

In practice, to run in parallel over several cores the work has to be split between "threads". This requires specific code that is easy to find in the source code... and that doesn't show up. There are mentions of threading... in the "todo" list of some filters (selective Gaussian blur, for instance). There is some threading involved, but it's more around the responsiveness of the GUI (and this doesn't require several cores) than about getting more cores to process things faster.

So, a fast single CPU is better than several cores.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jun 4, 2014, 15:40
Post: #5
RE: CPU for GIMP
In my screenshot (maybe not as obvious) I was smudging while I pushed screen/print.

Quote: Of course the thread dispatching makes it run on several cores, but that's a sequential use of each core, it doesn't use several cores in parallel.
Makes sense, I could go on and debate, but I'm more of a learner,

Quote:In practice, to run in parallel over several cores the work has to be split between "threads". This requires specific code that is easy to find in the source code... and that doesn't show up. There are mentions of threading... in the "todo" list of some filters (selective Gaussian blur, for instance)...
I'll research the multi-threading code when I get the chance, maybe I'll put it in my Gimp if its worth the trouble/able to. I learn a new thing every day ^_^

*In the next version of gimp, maybe it will have hyper-threading technology hahaha!

sorry for the late reply, haven't been on for a while, working overnights sleep most of the day =_=
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Gimp GUI icons missed massimobarbieri 1 169 Aug 23, 2017 17:51
Last Post: ofnuts
  why gimp in mac has bad performance mcheung63 1 162 Aug 20, 2017 10:13
Last Post: ythgilb
  Issue viewing GIMP-modified picture JuniorPear 1 262 Jul 6, 2017 05:03
Last Post: ythgilb
  GIMP Taking Too Long to Start (Fonts) Seta 2 296 Jun 20, 2017 16:10
Last Post: Seta
  Problem with pressure on gimp (huion h610) protosd3 18 5,520 Jun 8, 2017 19:20
Last Post: John Penfold

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS