Post Reply 

Color palette error

Jan 16, 2014, 13:55
Post: #1
Color palette error
Previously, I had been able to add .aco color palettes to GIMP and use them. But they are suddenly no longer in my palettes menu and I'm getting this error for each one I had added (and used before):

Fatal parse error in palette file 'C:\Users\Christina\.gimp-2.8\palettes\Transitional.aco': Missing magic header.

Anyone know how I can fix this?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 16, 2014, 18:04
Post: #2
RE: Color palette error

.zip  Transitional.zip (Size: 1.08 KB / Downloads: 31)
(Jan 16, 2014 14:45)ofnuts Wrote:  Can you attach one of your .ACO files here (in a ZIP) ?

Sure thing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 16, 2014, 18:49 (This post was last modified: Jan 16, 2014 19:17 by rich2005.)
Post: #3
RE: Color palette error
(Jan 16, 2014 18:04)christina0 Wrote:  
(Jan 16, 2014 14:45)ofnuts Wrote:  Can you attach one of your .ACO files here (in a ZIP) ?

Sure thing.

A bit of a mystery, working ok here
edit: not quite true, the .aco are not showing here either.

When I saw the first post, checked but the only PS swatches I had were ancient, from PS7, and Adobe love upgrading formats.
but
That still imports ok:

screenshots for reference http://i.imgur.com/fmuGdyc.jpg

a Gimp palette is a simple text file should start off something like this

Code:
GIMP Palette
Name: Transitional
Columns: 16
#
87  66  49    Untitled
164 173 168    Untitled
74  57  39    Untitled
149 140 131    Untitled
......


attached the transitional.gpl for comparison


Attached File(s)
.zip  Transitional.gpl.zip (Size: 558 bytes / Downloads: 17)

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 16, 2014, 20:40
Post: #4
RE: Color palette error
(Jan 16, 2014 18:49)rich2005 Wrote:  
(Jan 16, 2014 18:04)christina0 Wrote:  
(Jan 16, 2014 14:45)ofnuts Wrote:  Can you attach one of your .ACO files here (in a ZIP) ?

Sure thing.

A bit of a mystery, working ok here
edit: not quite true, the .aco are not showing here either.

When I saw the first post, checked but the only PS swatches I had were ancient, from PS7, and Adobe love upgrading formats.
but
That still imports ok:

screenshots for reference http://i.imgur.com/fmuGdyc.jpg

a Gimp palette is a simple text file should start off something like this

Code:
GIMP Palette
Name: Transitional
Columns: 16
#
87  66  49    Untitled
164 173 168    Untitled
74  57  39    Untitled
149 140 131    Untitled
......


attached the transitional.gpl for comparison

Doh. Thank you for the screenshot. I was trying to do it wrong. Blush Still pretty new to GIMP.

It's working now that I'm using it correctly, thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 22, 2014, 18:50
Post: #5
RE: Color palette error
Hello, I'm getting the same error as OP when I try to refresh the list of normal .gpl palettes, and when I try to save a new palette, or an edited palette, GIMP force closes. I have done both of these operations successfully before, so I have no idea what has gone wrong. You seem to be the expert, Of Nuts- help out a (relatively) noob, please?

Fuzzyselect is my magic wand!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  GIMP 2.10 mathmap.exe error while starting bluejedi 1 245 Apr 30, 2018 11:06
Last Post: paynekj
  pick color and use renato07 1 343 Feb 22, 2018 15:24
Last Post: paynekj
  What is the best font and color combination to write on this? SonAmyFan362 2 155 Jan 23, 2018 16:17
Last Post: SonAmyFan362
  silver color pamopar 2 4,345 Nov 22, 2017 06:01
Last Post: georgemacin
  "Unknown Filetype" error on any but .xcf beachboui 1 556 Jul 29, 2017 21:29
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS