Post Reply 

Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path

Mar 23, 2011, 15:50 (This post was last modified: Mar 23, 2011 15:51 by xljedi.)
Post: #1
Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
I've been having this problem changing the Paint Tool in the Stroke Path Dialog and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Huh

I'm using GIMP v2.6.11

First I stroke a path using the Paintbrush as the paint tool. Then I change the Paintbrush to Airbrush and try to stroke the same path and it seems like it's still using the Paintbrush (or even worse, it does nothing at all). Sometimes I reopen the stroke path dialog and it seems to have reverted back to the last paint tool I used (Paintbrush) and my Airbrush selection seems to have been completely ignored.

Currently if I want to stroke with different paint tools I have to do the following. Stroke with Paintbrush, stoke with Pencil and then undo (for some reason changing from the pencil tool doesn't have the problem), then stroke with Airbrush. I always have to do this intermediary step of stroking and undoing with a pencil to get the new paint tool to register.

Can anyone confirm this is a problem, or tell me what I need to do differently?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 23, 2011, 17:27
Post: #2
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
If you stroke the airbrush over the brush you won't see much difference if they are using the same brush and color... Otherwise seems to work OK for me (2.6.8 Linux version)

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 23, 2011, 17:35 (This post was last modified: Mar 23, 2011 17:39 by xljedi.)
Post: #3
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 23, 2011 17:27)ofnuts Wrote:  If you stroke the airbrush over the brush you won't see much difference if they are using the same brush and color... Otherwise seems to work OK for me (2.6.8 Linux version)

No, it's not that... it doesn't work the other way either (paintbrush over airbrush for instance) and I can switch to a completely different path and same result. So it's definitely not related to a simple stroke overlay.

I think it's a bug in the 2.6.11 version but looking for someone to confirm. I didn't have this problem in previous versions. I updated to v2.6.11 to get the text-conform-to-path feature, so going back to older (apparently more stable) versions results in lost features for me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 25, 2011, 19:23
Post: #4
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
bump...

Anyone using v2.6.11 that can take a minute to confirm this before I report it as a bug?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 25, 2011, 21:01
Post: #5
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 25, 2011 19:23)xljedi Wrote:  bump...

Anyone using v2.6.11 that can take a minute to confirm this before I report it as a bug?

I'm using 2.6.11 on Windows XP SP3. I created a new 800 x 600 canvas and then used the path tool to randomly click a couple of spots to create a couple of paths. I tried as many as 5 or 6 different successive strokes, one over top of the other. Each time I changed the color, the brush, or the tool (paintbursh, airbrush, eraser, etc.)

I don't think this is the answer you're looking for, but it worked fine every time. I couldn't find any combination that would make it do anything unexpected.

I even thought that maybe my path wasn't complicated enough, so I typed my name and then used text-to-path. The only thing that happened was that I wasted about half an hour after getting side-tracked and playing with some cool looking effects you can get with this. Confused

[Image: viragogimpforumssig.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 25, 2011, 21:14
Post: #6
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 25, 2011 21:01)Virago Wrote:  I even thought that maybe my path wasn't complicated enough, so I typed my name and then used text-to-path. The only thing that happened was that I wasted about half an hour after getting side-tracked and playing with some cool looking effects you can get with this. Confused
You'll find that you learn more about Gimp by answering questions tnan by asking them Smile

If you like playing with paths you'll be interested in my latest puppy:

http://gimp-slinky.sourceforge.net/

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 25, 2011, 22:03
Post: #7
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 25, 2011 21:14)ofnuts Wrote:  You'll find that you learn more about Gimp by answering questions tnan by asking them Smile
True enough. The hard part is answering them correctly! Tongue
(Mar 25, 2011 21:14)ofnuts Wrote:  If you like playing with paths you'll be interested in my latest puppy:

http://gimp-slinky.sourceforge.net/
I thought this looked cool as hell the first time I saw it about a week ago on the plugin registry. Unfortunately I think my Python is messed up. It shows up in my menu but won't run... but then again neither will anything else Python, including the console. I just haven't had time to try beating on it with a hammer, but hopefully I will this weekend.

[Image: viragogimpforumssig.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 25, 2011, 23:16
Post: #8
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
If it shows in the menu then it will likely run, because to show up there it has gone as fas as executing its registration routine when Gimp started.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 26, 2011, 02:27
Post: #9
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 25, 2011 23:16)ofnuts Wrote:  If it shows in the menu then it will likely run, because to show up there it has gone as fas as executing its registration routine when Gimp started.

Unfortunately that's exactly the problem. It shows in the menu, and when there is an active path its not grayed out, but when you click on it... nothing.

Maybe I need a bigger hammer?

(I think we've also managed to unintentionally hijack xljedi's thread) Blush

[Image: viragogimpforumssig.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 27, 2011, 14:19
Post: #10
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 25, 2011 21:01)Virago Wrote:  I'm using 2.6.11 on Windows XP SP3. I created a new 800 x 600 canvas and then used the path tool to randomly click a couple of spots to create a couple of paths. I tried as many as 5 or 6 different successive strokes, one over top of the other. Each time I changed the color, the brush, or the tool (paintbursh, airbrush, eraser, etc.)

I don't think this is the answer you're looking for, but it worked fine every time. I couldn't find any combination that would make it do anything unexpected.

Thanks for the feedback.

Well, in one sense it's very good news. At least it's not a widespread bug that I have to wait for devs to fix. Now I just have to figure out why it's doing it in my installation/setup. Guess the first step is to redo the download and install. If that fixes it I'll be very happy! Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 27, 2011, 14:23
Post: #11
RE: Changing the Paint Tool for Stroke Path
(Mar 26, 2011 02:27)Virago Wrote:  (I think we've also managed to unintentionally hijack xljedi's thread) Blush

Buncha thread pirates! [Image: piratey.gif]

No worries... Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How to draw a straight "path" KrisR 0 58 Nov 7, 2017 16:08
Last Post: KrisR
  Using the Elipse tool bl665 1 167 Jul 28, 2017 06:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  best tutorial for changing someone's head to another body JaDan 19 9,443 Jul 20, 2017 05:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  Blur tool changes the color F_Jenkins17 3 313 Oct 8, 2014 07:38
Last Post: ofnuts
  Changing a silhouette to line art Tropdoug 3 390 Oct 7, 2014 07:51
Last Post: rich2005

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS