Post Reply 

Change text size in all text layers

Oct 4, 2011, 05:27
Post: #1
Change text size in all text layers
Hi,
I am creating a layered marine chart with reference points. I've imported the chart and am creating text layers with a reference number in them.

I have about 700 of these to add - a daunting task - but it's for a NZ coastguard unit, so is worthwhile.

The idea is to have a layer with all our reference points on it, so when a chart is updated, we can just import the chart; add back the reference points layers and print it out.
(Why? NZ baynames, danger spots etc usually have 2 names; an english name and a maori name - sometimes we have to cross reference when on the water to find the correct place).

2 questions:
Is creating text layers the best way of doing this?
Is there any way of increasing the size of all the text - instead of having to edit 700 text layers?

Cheers,
Ian
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 4, 2011, 06:37
Post: #2
RE: Change text size in all text layers
1) no... the best way of doing this is to create text "paths" (the "Path from text" button). When you change the chart, you import your new chart as a layer, add a transparent layer above it, and "stroke" the paths (or more accurately, "path to selection", and bucket-fill selection) in that layer over the new chart. You can manage 700 different paths (but this would require a script to stroke them all over a new chart) or merge them into a single path (you can still quite easily update/add/delete names. The big advantage of "paths" is that you can rotate/scale them ad nauseam without having them lose their sharpness. They are also very "lightweight" and don't increase the image size significantly.

2) with a script everything is easy. If you use paths as indicated above, the question is whether you scale the paths to adapt to a bigger image (then you can have one single path with all the names) or you are only adjusting the character sizes with the text remaining roughly at the same position. If the latter, you need to keep name paths distincts and have a script (moderately difficult to do) to increase their size without moving them.

I can help for the scripts...

Post a map extract here (or PM me a URL where I can get it) and I'll show you.

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Oct 4, 2011, 09:04
Post: #3
RE: Change text size in all text layers
@bagpussnz
Sometimes at *the start* you have to ask yourself if Gimp is the best tool for the job.

In this case Inkscape does it so much easier. Background image (the map), text objects, select all, change text properies.


[Image: OLqg4.png]

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Multiple text strings to be added on the same wallpaper and autos with the stringname sbheeman 1 56 Oct 16, 2017 11:26
Last Post: paynekj
  Is the "Change Foreground Colour" window dockable ? Ceriano 2 88 Oct 14, 2017 17:22
Last Post: Ceriano
  Lost layers jgarnold 0 82 Sep 21, 2017 07:35
Last Post: jgarnold
  Can't change page setup settings defunk 4 998 Aug 22, 2017 05:15
Last Post: ythgilb
  increasing size of menus / windows freedda 1 150 Aug 21, 2017 05:55
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS