Post Reply 

Can't get new Brushes to work with Linux

Nov 23, 2012, 09:58
Post: #1
Can't get new Brushes to work with Linux
Hi, I have no problems installing new brushes when using windows, you simply extract the brushes in the brushes folder of course Smile

I am doing exactly the same thing with my linux machine but I cant seem to get the brushes when i restart Gimp in linux. I even tried extracting the brushes in a couple of other folders within the Gimp/brushes folder. Still they fail to appear ?

Any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong. I really would like to stop using windows but i often run into problems with linux Sad

thx,
Mike.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 10:30
Post: #2
RE: Can't get new Brushes to work with Linux
(Nov 23, 2012 09:58)carlyn Wrote:  Hi, I have no problems installing new brushes when using windows, you simply extract the brushes in the brushes folder of course Smile

I am doing exactly the same thing with my linux machine but I cant seem to get the brushes when i restart Gimp in linux. I even tried extracting the brushes in a couple of other folders within the Gimp/brushes folder. Still they fail to appear ?

Any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong. I really would like to stop using windows but i often run into problems with linux Sad

thx,
Mike.

I hear you and thanks for responding but i am not finding the /.gimp-2.8 folder, either by searching the file system or by searching the home folder ? how do i get "hidden" directories to show please ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 10:47
Post: #3
RE: Can't get new Brushes to work with Linux
correction, the search results dont show the right gimp folder but do turn up my gimp 2.8 in the bloody widows partition !!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Nov 23, 2012, 12:16
Post: #4
RE: Can't get new Brushes to work with Linux
It depends on your linux, this is Dolphin in PCLOS-KDE

[Image: qRViz.jpg]

It will be there, somewhere, probably in a View menu, from memory Nautilus as in many gnome desktops, use the hot key 'ctrl-h' as a shortcut. Also useful to go into 2 window mode, that is probably in the view menu as well.
Quote:... 2.8 in the bloody widows partition ...
sorry to see that your M$ has died.

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Crop to Content doesn't work timkay 1 26 Today 09:07
Last Post: paynekj
  Help, how to resize brushes? stylinlp38 2 72 Feb 16, 2019 01:22
Last Post: stylinlp38
  preview of rotation does not work tonmilx 0 159 Dec 15, 2018 17:55
Last Post: tonmilx
  Saving work John Rayner 2 435 Sep 3, 2018 09:35
Last Post: John Rayner
  Can't get copy and paste to work UlyssesBlue 4 1,216 Sep 8, 2014 09:43
Last Post: UlyssesBlue

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS