Post Reply 

can I pin the toolbox and layers to the GIMP window?

Jan 28, 2011, 03:15
Post: #1
can I pin the toolbox and layers to the GIMP window?
When I minimize GIMP, it would be nice if these two toolbars minimized along with it. Any way to do that? I noticed GIMPshop up for download on download.com, which seems to have this feature but it mentioned that the main GIMP program is more up-to-date so I got that instead.

Why would I want toolbars on my screen when I've already minimized the program? :\
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 28, 2011, 07:37
Post: #2
RE: can I pin the toolbox and layers to the GIMP window?
If you have several images opened you want the 'toolbars' to remain visible when you minimize the image...

You can drag the Layers dialog (like most Dialogs) by clicking on its main label ('Layers' in bold) and drop it at the bottom of the toolbox (thin 'drop area' at the bottom of this dialog). You can drop other dialogs on that part of the Toolbox and they will arrange in tabs. The Toolbox is a lot easier to hide (Ctrl-B or Tab).

Gimp 2.8 should have a "single-windows" UI

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 30, 2011, 23:00 (This post was last modified: Jan 31, 2011 01:42 by zeroality.)
Post: #3
RE: can I pin the toolbox and layers to the GIMP window?
Thanks. I'm still having trouble hiding the toolbox though. Ctrl+B or Tab doesn't do anything when the window is active, and it just gives the toolbox focus when it's inactive.

Edit: Nevermind. I figured out that if I don't maximize GIMP then the toolbar minimizes with it. Thanks for the help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Jan 31, 2012, 17:50 (This post was last modified: Jan 31, 2012 17:51 by Lowkee33.)
Post: #4
RE: can I pin the toolbox and layers to the GIMP window?
A little dust off here...

First, this doesn't seem to work for me.

(Jan 30, 2011 23:00)zeroality Wrote:  Edit: Nevermind. I figured out that if I don't maximize GIMP then the toolbar minimizes with it. Thanks for the help.

I would really like it if the toolbar (and any other box, color balance/color to alpha/etc) could be attached to the main window. Can they? OP's question was never really answered.

These boxes are just getting in the way when I open then up, I feel like I am moving windows constantly. When I use multiple monitors the boxes seem to appear in random places, often not in a place where I can even see/select them.

I'm sure that there are many valid reasons for having separate boxes. I'm not trying to complain or insult anyone. This is, in fact, the only critique I would give to the program itself.

Edit:
Quote:Gimp 2.8 should have a "single-windows" UI

...Oh... Well, thumbs up for that idea.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Running GIMP from cmd without new window appearing llipowicz 2 23 Jun 27, 2017 15:07
Last Post: ythgilb
  GIMP crashed, and all my saved changes are gone LostGoldfish 1 59 Jun 23, 2017 13:20
Last Post: ythgilb
  Layers question lpvmc 1 61 Jun 10, 2017 18:40
Last Post: ythgilb
  GIMP 2.6 won't uninstall maxwelldm 2 152 Oct 11, 2014 01:00
Last Post: maxwelldm
Sad GIMP Not Opening tilachihuahua 1 115 Oct 11, 2014 00:15
Last Post: ofnuts

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS