Post Reply 

background

Aug 28, 2013, 09:17 (This post was last modified: Aug 28, 2013 09:23 by qim.)
Post: #1
background
I'm really, really new to this...

I have written a few words and created also a transparent background (I think...)

What I would like to do now is to place a photo as a background to the text I already have.

Is that possible or do I have to start with the photo?

Thank you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 09:22 (This post was last modified: Aug 28, 2013 09:23 by iForStyle007.)
Post: #2
RE: background
It would be easier to start with the image, size it to what size you need. Then add the text.

Or if you want to get a little messy....

starting with text
After making the text.
-Import your image as another layer.
-name it to anchor the layer (it shouldn't have "Floating layer" on it after you name it)
Image > Fit canvas to layers

Then resize photo if needed.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 09:28
Post: #3
RE: background
Hi Thanks

I've create another layer but cannot see how to import the image from the Desktop.

Help....
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 09:30
Post: #4
RE: background
False alarm...

I got the image in Gimp

Thanks, anyway
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 09:32
Post: #5
RE: background
False alarm...

I got the image in Gimp

Thanks, anyway
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 09:41
Post: #6
RE: background
Ok, I knew I would be back...

Now, I have another problem: the txt that I wrote (with shadows: two layers I would like to keep) is on a teplate 600 x 440 px. Now the image I want to import to be the background is much taller and possibly I want the text to be above the image. In all the template should be 600 x 900 or so.

How can I stretch the existing text template to allow the image layer to appear below it?

Thank you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 09:55
Post: #7
RE: background
Ok, I knew I would be back...

Now, I have another problem: the txt that I wrote (with shadows: two layers I would like to keep) is on a teplate 600 x 440 px. Now the image I want to import to be the background is much taller and possibly I want the text to be above the image. In all the template should be 600 x 900 or so.

How can I stretch the existing text template to allow the image layer to appear below it?

Thank you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 28, 2013, 23:10
Post: #8
RE: background
hahaha, pedantic, I had to look that up, but not at all, you've expaned on the Floating layer issue, hopefully it will be helpful to qim.

@qim: it seems you're double clicking the post button & making double posts. You only need to click it once, it takes a second or two for it to load.
Anyways
For the issue of the template sizes not matching up, I would open the image on its own, then copy & past the text/or retype(if you made in Gimp, you can control the font size better) from your original project.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 29, 2013, 15:55
Post: #9
RE: background
Hi, thanks all

I managed to do a very simple start project but have two problems:

when I try to move layers with the move tool I have great difficulty although eventually I mange. I guess I am missing something. Is there a secret?

More to the point, now. I got some simple text in a layer: then copied the layer so that I can use one as a shadow to the first. The first has two tone gold fonts, but I am unable to change the colour of the copy. Why should that be? I did that before in anothe project but now it does not wok.

Can you help, please?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 29, 2013, 16:50
Post: #10
RE: background
First one, you have a layer, any layer, text or otherwise and you have problems moving it.
Make sure you are on the layer in the layers dialog.
Select the move tool.
In the tool options, enable move the active layer.
Click on the layer and drag around.
[Image: ZaNlrFH.jpg]

Next one, your duplicated text layer.
Two-tone gold then it is probably not text any more. Does not matter, providing there is still some transparency.
Make sure you are on the duplicated layer.
Use the color select tool, but do not select the colour, select the transparency.
[Image: G2zM2ve.jpg]

Now invert the selection (ie. selects the coloured text).
Fill or paint that selection with black. Turn the selection off and apply a gaussian blur.
Then, back to part-one and move that layer to give a drop shadow effect.
[Image: TrAIqri.jpg]

** https://www.gimp-forum.net/ now answering questions**
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Aug 29, 2013, 17:06
Post: #11
RE: background
Great! Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Retro Games Background snooks 1 168 Jun 13, 2018 21:57
Last Post: paynekj
  (Probably)easy transparency / background question Matthew Cole 1 251 Mar 13, 2018 18:26
Last Post: ythgilb
  Stopping gimp from colouring the transparent background vizzkidd 2 315 Jan 22, 2018 18:53
Last Post: vizzkidd
  Difficult Background Rob1955 1 242 Jan 10, 2018 10:18
Last Post: paynekj
  Silhouette with a transparent background Rachela 0 304 Oct 1, 2017 17:06
Last Post: Rachela

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS