Post Reply 

Automate canvas size change, alpha layer

Dec 26, 2013, 15:58
Post: #1
Automate canvas size change, alpha layer
Is it possible to automate the following: I have a directory of about 50 jpg files. With each file I would like to:
- make the image square, by increasing the canvas size of the least dimension. ie if the width is less than the height, increase the width to the value of the height, or conversely if the height is less than the width
- add a transparency layer
- save to xcf
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 27, 2013, 03:43
Post: #2
RE: Automate canvas size change, alpha layer
There is a way you can semi-automate the process with (Crop)crop tool

Check on:
[]Allow growing
[]Fixed [_____Size][v]
[]Highlight
Under "Fixed: [Size]" Type a uniform size for your images.

*As long as you leave Gimp open for the next image or click the disk "save Tool preset..." at the bottom left of toolbox window, it should save your size.

Then click the photo (zoom out to 50% if you can't see the shaded areas being uncropped)

Then "Layer > New layer..." Pick transparency or "shift"+ "ctrl"+"N"

"Save" ctrl+shift+s

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 27, 2013, 15:25
Post: #3
RE: Automate canvas size change, alpha layer
The images are of various sizes.
(Dec 26, 2013 17:17)ofnuts Wrote:  Are the image of various sizes, or is it just a difference of orientation?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 27, 2013, 15:45
Post: #4
RE: Automate canvas size change, alpha layer
Thanks, this does speed up the process.
(Dec 27, 2013 03:43)iForStyle007 Wrote:  There is a way you can semi-automate the process with (Crop)crop tool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 27, 2013, 15:54 (This post was last modified: Dec 27, 2013 15:56 by allelopath.)
Post: #5
RE: Automate canvas size change, alpha layer
Strange, I just noticed that, even though I have the crop tool set to Fixed 500x500, the image comes out to be 499x499. Then if I go to 501x501, the image size is 501x501

(Dec 27, 2013 03:43)iForStyle007 Wrote:  There is a way you can semi-automate the process with (Crop)crop tool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Problems with display size vs screen resolution blinkinhek 1 498 Jan 10, 2019 15:39
Last Post: paynekj
Rainbow Change colour eliassons 1 620 Jan 2, 2019 09:31
Last Post: paynekj
  How to change the weight of a font in gimp? adrianh 3 1,033 Oct 4, 2018 16:40
Last Post: paynekj
  Character size in menus (text size) Punchcard 1 378 Aug 13, 2018 06:27
Last Post: paynekj
  Transparent Layer Changing To Black instead of White after Export JustAmanda123 2 3,723 Jul 28, 2018 17:06
Last Post: abajan

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS