Post Reply 

Animated Gif with a fixed layer

May 29, 2014, 16:41
Post: #1
Animated Gif with a fixed layer
Hi All,

I'm a new comer to using GIMP, but i'm finding my way around pretty well so far and enjoying it all!

so my question is, i'm creating an animated GIF file, and i'd like to have some "Lens Flare" over laid on the whole thing. obviously when I create a new layer on the top of the rest of the layers, it just creates another slide in the animated GIF. is there anyway, that I can tell it to overlay that one layer on the whole animation?

I've attached what I've got so hopefully you can see what i'm getting at!

Thanks

Ricki


Attached File(s)
.xcf  Home Image4(1500x219).xcf (Size: 796.04 KB / Downloads: 49)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 29, 2014, 19:11 (This post was last modified: May 29, 2014 19:12 by ofnuts.)
Post: #2
RE: Animated Gif with a fixed layer
See my interleave-layers script (in "title mode").

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 30, 2014, 03:24
Post: #3
RE: Animated Gif with a fixed layer
(May 29, 2014 19:11)ofnuts Wrote:  See my interleave-layers script (in "title mode").
...install instructions on right-sidebar.

Then on his site, click "Homepage"

Under the Downloads section, click the link ending in /script/ and find the one that says
interleave-layers-0.4.py

to download it.

"In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than fear of failure." BC
[Image: 29uocaf.png]
iFS007 tut vids on YT ~ auto color B&W landscape tut
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 30, 2014, 07:44
Post: #4
RE: Animated Gif with a fixed layer
Thanks OfNuts and iForStyle007 for your replies. I think i'm still doing something wrong, or maybe it's just something wrong with the whole way that i'm trying to do this operation. The animated logo in the banner is just a small portion of the whole image size. I've placed the lens flare halfway across the join of the two. so i'm getting a duplication of the lens flare 60 times (in the background portion) which looks awful! I think I may have to rethink the whole thing. but thanks very much for your plugin, I'm sure it'll be useful for something!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
May 30, 2014, 13:25
Post: #5
RE: Animated Gif with a fixed layer
Your current animation works because you are a bit lucky. There are two way to make an animatd GIF. A frame in REPLACE mode completely replaces the image. A frame in COMBINE mode is added over the current image (usually it overlays only part of the image). The way your image is done it will only work in COMBINE mode (where the rotating bits overlay each other).

But if you want the flare to appear above the rotating ticket it has be part of each frame of the rotating ticket because you cannot add the ticket under it using animated GIF modes.

My script has one restriction, all the frames to be blended have to have the same size, and since one of them is usually as large as the canvas, this is means that it's better to have all frames canvas-sized:

So:
1) set all layers to the size to the canvas, using a dirty trick:
- Image>Canvas size: increment the width by 1 pixel, and ask to resize all layers
- Image>Canvas size: decrement the width by 1 pixel, and ask to resize all layers
- Now all layers have the size of the canvas

2) flatten the rotating bits on the background image:
- make the flare layer invisible
- use interleave-layers in "sprite mode", using the bottom layer (full bakcground) as the mayer to merge into others.
- You get a new image with 60 layers, where all the rotating frames are merged with a copy of the background.

3) Add the flare above it:
- make the Flare layer visible again in your original image (important, otherwise you hit a bug in the script...)
- invoke interleave-layers in "title mode", in that new image, and use the flare layer as the layer.
- you get a new image, where the flare layer is merged into all layers.

At that point you are done, but you can use Filters>Animation>Optimize for GIF to optimize the image before exporting it (as done below).

The GIF:

[attachment=3570]

(the XCF is too big to be attached here. PM me if interested).

Now answering your questions on
https://Gimp-Forum.net
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  gif making tybonel13 1 304 May 27, 2017 16:17
Last Post: ofnuts
  New layer color... btraven 0 236 Oct 2, 2014 00:47
Last Post: btraven
  Dragged Layer Dropping Issues darkikuto18 3 290 Sep 29, 2014 07:56
Last Post: fluffybunny2
  Get rid of the "new layer dialogue"? 3dDave 2 289 Sep 20, 2014 20:34
Last Post: 3dDave
  Help with adding image to gif Mandzukic 2 417 Sep 18, 2014 19:21
Last Post: Mandzukic

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS