Post Reply 

Animated gif layers overlaying

Mar 11, 2014, 22:58 (This post was last modified: Mar 11, 2014 23:03 by Fitch.)
Post: #1
Animated gif layers overlaying
Hi all.

I'm trying to make an animation to show electron "holes" travelling along a conductor. It's not finished yet, but is getting big, and when I use the Linux image viewer, it shows the previous frame as well as the next. It's driving me crazy. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks.

I've no idea if people can download the attachment, so it can also be found at:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7273...onhole.gif

   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 12, 2014, 01:24 (This post was last modified: Mar 12, 2014 01:31 by Fitch.)
Post: #2
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Replace mode sounds good! where's that?
Actually, what I should have done is provide the .xcf and not the .gif, silly me!


.xcf  electronhole.xcf (Size: 104.41 KB / Downloads: 48)

or, if that doesn't work:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7273...onhole.xcf
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 12, 2014, 21:26
Post: #3
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Thank you very much for that!

Of course, I've only got the green circles in the "background" layer, so do I just "merge visible" with each layer and the background in turn, or is there an "easy" method to having the background show in every frame?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 12, 2014, 22:23
Post: #4
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Wow! you have been busy!

I downloaded the interleave-layers. Got an image of the background in 1 file, and the other file has all the other layers.
Not quite sure what to do next as the interleave stacks and layer box is all greyed out...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 13, 2014, 01:05
Post: #5
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Thanks for that..
Getting there.
Do I make all the frames in the "moving parts" visible or just one at a time?
I'm getting the background in the foreground, so it's hiding all the electrons jumping.

But I can certainly see the value of the script..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 13, 2014, 11:20
Post: #6
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Yes!
Thank you. I've managed it.
Now only another 14 more frames to do and I'll have it finished.

Thanks for your help.

Very impressive website you have there. I'll be visititng it a lot methinks...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 13, 2014, 13:39 (This post was last modified: Mar 13, 2014 14:25 by Fitch.)
Post: #7
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
I will, I promise.

Actually, when I said 14 more to go, I realised it was 74 more..

Did you know that the late great Professor Feinmann theorised that since no electron in the entire universe can be at the same state, there can only be one electron in all of creation. But that since it can zoom in and out of all the 11 dimensions at will, it appears that there are gazillions of them.

I will call this electron Bob.
Bob the B*st*rd....
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 13, 2014, 18:40 (This post was last modified: Mar 13, 2014 18:45 by Fitch.)
Post: #8
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Yes, you're absolutely right who was I thinking of?... :rolleyes

Will post the damn thing later, but now I'm going to bed, I made a mistake. Do it all over again tomorrow...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 14, 2014, 06:11 (This post was last modified: Mar 14, 2014 06:12 by Fitch.)
Post: #9
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
Here it is.

Now that I've done it, I could've made it bigger I suppose...

   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 14, 2014, 14:30
Post: #10
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
(Mar 14, 2014 06:11)Fitch Wrote:  Here it is.

Now that I've done it, I could've made it bigger I suppose...

The size is ok, will load fast.
If you maximise the browser
You can push ctrl + "+" & ctrl + "-" to make it temporarily bigger on your browser (if using chrome) using the browsers' scaling ability. Ctrl + 0 "zero" to reset browser size/

If your using another browser use the Zoom settings (%) for that browser.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Mar 14, 2014, 18:58 (This post was last modified: Mar 14, 2014 18:59 by Fitch.)
Post: #11
RE: Animated gif layers overlaying
No problem. doing that and everything's fine.

Could always go back to the .xcf and double it's size and re-export, if I was worried about it. Any bigger and the 127 frames (final count) would eat up a lot of memory.

So I'm happy! I hope my students will be....

Thanks for all your help.

Till the next time....
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  how to separate 256 greyscale to different layers Grumpy gnome 1 142 Aug 25, 2018 22:21
Last Post: paynekj
Exclamation URGENT! How do I restore layers or a previously saved version of a saved xcf image? Txsweetcheeks1981 3 4,410 Aug 24, 2018 14:15
Last Post: paynekj
  Export multiple layers as a layered PDF, not a mulitpage PDF auriuman78 2 261 Jun 15, 2018 22:14
Last Post: auriuman78
  Gif help M0orty 1 292 Mar 23, 2018 06:03
Last Post: ythgilb
  Question about Layers roy1012 1 393 Jan 28, 2018 21:19
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS