Post Reply 

Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation

Jul 19, 2011, 16:26
Post: #1
Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation
So I have this gif animation and I want to add a background to it.
Problem is when I add a new layer (the background layer) and draw something on it (like as an example: a field of daisies) and save the layers as an animation than..well..you guessed it..it participates in the animation.

So how to add a background without harassing the nimated layers?

Thnx in advance,

Reskaillev
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 24, 2011, 04:56
Post: #2
RE: Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation
(Jul 19, 2011 19:43)ofnuts Wrote:  You have to add the background to all your layers. Bu there is a script for that:

http://www.sai.msu.su/~megera/gimp/merge-anim/

Thanks this is what I was looking for, but I am not really sure how to install new script yet? I was watching some tuts, but I use Ubuntu... sigh, so, thats what I am working on now.

[Image: banana.gif]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 24, 2011, 20:13
Post: #3
RE: Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation
Thanks, honestly I am not sure what you mean by that. I ran this command:

sudo nautilis

and there I can add brushes, and whatever other plug ins. I have actually resolved this issue with a movement, but I have another question. So I am making another thread, I hope someone will know and tell me. Smile

If anybody wants to know how to make a planet rotate it is very simple actually:

1. Find a picture of the earth, or pretty flat landscape
2. Make it a perfect square with the perspective tool (i.e. 500x500px)
3. Go to Filters>Animation>Spinning Globe
4. Add however many frames probably around 30.
Now you have a spinning globe

I spent a couple hours to find this answer and this is all I needed Big Grin

[Image: banana.gif]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 27, 2011, 17:27
Post: #4
RE: Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation
(Dec 24, 2011 21:09)ofnuts Wrote:  Bad idea... by doing so you are polluting the standard install with files that shouldn't be there. In fact the proper way to add things to the system Gimp installation s to use the 'gimptool' command.

However the real adequate place for additional Gimp material (scripts, plugins, brushes, fonts, palettes, patterns...) is your Gimp profile, which is in your home directory (that you can designate as "~/" in the command shell prompt). Not that since this directory (.gimp-2.6) has a leading dot in the name, it is hidden by default in file explorers, so you have to tell them to show hidden files and directories.

OK, unfortunately I'm still new to the terminal. I tried this other method of chown -R "my username/user/share/gimp", and I would get an error. " ~/ " does nothing for me, because I figure I am suppose to write " ~/(?) "

Then what you are saying is once I get this folder open, I place the new files in them, as I did with 'sudo nautilus', where this command is effecting the standard install?

No issues with Gimp showing so far, glad.

[Image: banana.gif]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 29, 2011, 02:33
Post: #5
RE: Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation
OK, I got it open. You see when I installed Linux I never understood any of these commands. Since i installed it recently everyone says "didn't you know that?"

I ran:

ls ~/.gimp-2.6

Now I have a list of everything; brushes, fonts, scripts, etc.

Well, I am not sure which command to add my new brush and script?

At

[Image: banana.gif]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Dec 31, 2011, 23:51
Post: #6
RE: Adding a background that doesn't participate in the animation
oooo, now I did it, I thought it was through Terminal. Now I found what you are saying. What should I do with all the files I have added through Nautilus? And G'MIC will still not open for whatever reason it is defective on my OS.

(Still working my way to those white edges as well.)

[Image: banana.gif]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  (Probably)easy transparency / background question Matthew Cole 1 158 Mar 13, 2018 18:26
Last Post: ythgilb
  Stopping gimp from colouring the transparent background vizzkidd 2 209 Jan 22, 2018 18:53
Last Post: vizzkidd
  Difficult Background Rob1955 1 175 Jan 10, 2018 10:18
Last Post: paynekj
  Silhouette with a transparent background Rachela 0 236 Oct 1, 2017 17:06
Last Post: Rachela
  how to blend straight edges into background?? kshaeblue21 1 421 Aug 11, 2017 03:30
Last Post: ythgilb

Forum Jump:


GIMP ForumPortalArchiveContactTermsRSS